Seinfeld and Hale Will Help to Honor Julia Louis-Dreyfus at This Year’s Mark Twain Award Ceremony

Seinfeld and Veep co-stars Jerry Seinfeld and Tony Hale will be among the list of comedians honoring this year’s Mark Twain Award winner, Julia Louis Dreyfus. Today the Kennedy Center announced the list of presenters who will salute Louis-Dreyfus on October 21st during the 21st annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor ceremony. Other performers who will honor her include Tina Fey Stephen Colbert, Bryan Cranston, Ilana Glazer, Abbi Jacobson, Keegan-Michael Key and Kumail Nanjiani.

The gala event will be broadcast on PBS on Nov. 19 at 9 p.m.

The award is comedy’s highest honors.Louis Dreyfus will be the 21st person to receive the award which was first given to Richard Pryor in 1998. Other honorees have included Carol Burnett, Jay Leno, Ellen DeGeneres, Bill Murray, Will Ferrel, Eddie Murphy, Tina Fey, George Carlin, Bob Newhart, Richard Pryor, Neil Simon, Lorne Michaels, Billy Crystal, Lily Tomlin, Whoopi Goldberg, Carl Reiner, Jonathan Winters and most recently in 2017, David Letterman.

The triple threat star of three hit comedy series- Veep, Seinfeld and the New Adventures of Old Christine (and a brief tenure at SNL)- has won eight Emmy awards for her performances as well as nine SAG awards.

This year’s show Under the direction of the creative team from Done + Dusted, the Kennedy Center’s new producing partner for the Twain Prize.

Read more comedy news.