Bill Murray To Receive Comedy’s Biggest Honor


Bill Murray enters the unofficial Comedy Hall of Fame.

Since 1998, The Mark Twain Prize for American Humor has been considered the top prize in the comedy world and is awarded by the John F Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. On Monday, it was announced that comedy icon and legend Bill Murray will be receiving the prestigious award. Murray was honored to receive the award saying that he was “honored by the award and by its timing,”and “I believe Mark Twain has rolled over in his grave so much for so long, that this news won’t disturb his peace,”. Murray Joins other former SNL cast members who have received the award- Billy Crystal, Will Ferrell, Tina Fey, Eddie Murphy and Mr. SNL himself Lorne Michaels.

Because Murray is such a legend in the business with some of the most iconic roles in movies like Ghostbusters, and Caddyshack, the biggest names in comedy should all be at the event. Last year, everyone was excited to see Eddie Murphy take the stage and this year should be even better because Bill Murray always kills in any sort of guest appearance he makes, from random bar sightings to late night appearances. Bill Murray’s list of comedy accomplishments are too long to mention them all, but beyond SNL, Ghosbusters and Caddyshack lies a lifetime of great comedy movies like What About Bob?, Groundhog Day, Scrooged, Stripes, Tootsie, Meatballs, Quick Change, Kingpin, and his roles in Wes Anderson films like Rushmore, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, The Royal Tenenbaums, and Moonrise Kingdom for starters. Bill Murray has been and continues to be one of the funniest men in America and is a perfect choice for this year’s award.

Other past recipients include Richard Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Steve Martin, Neil Simon, Jay Leno, Eddie Murphy, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Bill Cosby, Ellen DeGeneres and Carol Burnett.

Bill Murray will be the 19th recipient of the prestigious award when he receives it at the Kennedy Center in Washington D.C. on October 23rd.

Read more comedy news.