Comedy Game Changer Anne Beatts to Be Honored With SNL Women at Nantucket Film Festival.

The Nantucket Film Festival (NFF) announced today a complete female slate of honorees and focus for the 2019 Screenwriters Tribute, one of the festival’s tentpole events.

They announced that Saturday Night Live writers and performers Jane Curtin, Anne Beatts, Sudi Green, and Sarah Schneider will be awarded the Creative Impact in Television Award which will be presented by Cecily Strong; and Screenwriter.

In a writer’s room that has been often seen as a boy’s club, these women distinguished themselves with notable and hilarious wit, sketches, jokes, deliveries and performances. Curtin, an Emmy®-Award winning and Golden Globe nominated actress, was a SNL regular from 1975-1980 when she debuted as one of the original members of the Not Ready for Prime Time Players. Curtin has also starred in films and TV series including 3rd Rock from the Sun, Kate & Allie, Coneheads and more. Beatts is an Emmy® Award-winning and WGA-winning writer who joined the creative team at SNL in the early years and was part of the show from 1975-1979. Prior to arriving at SNL she was on another legendary genre-changing team at the National Lampoon where she not only stood out in a room full of male egos, she also became the first female editor of the publication. Schneider was a writer with SNL from 2011-2017 and the youngest co-head writer in the show’s history and is the co-creator of Comedy Central’s latest sitcom The Other Two. Emmy® Award-nominated writer Green is currently a writer at SNL, starting her career with the show in 2015. Cecily Strong has been an SNL series regular since 2012, and has also appeared in the reboot of Ghostbusters, The Bronze and The Boss.

Also announced, film producer Leslie Dixon will receive the Screenwriters Tribute Award.
Dixon penned the screenplay for 1987’s Outrageous Fortune and Overboard and developed screenplays for Mrs. Doubtfire, The Thomas Crown Affair, Pay It Forward, and the 2007 adaptation of Hairspray. Her award will be presented by actresses Brittany Snow and Nikki Blonsky, who starred opposite each other in HAIRSPRAY. Previous recipients of the award include Noah Baumbach, Nancy Meyers, Tom McCarthy, Oliver Stone, David O. Russell, Judd Apatow, Paul Haggis, Aaron Sorkin, and Steve
Martin, among others.

“Over the years, The Nantucket Film Festival has always looked to honor the incredible work of
the industry’s screenwriters and storytellers. This year we are thrilled to be recognizing a group of
trailblazing female performers and writers whose efforts continue to leave a lasting impact on
Hollywood,” said Mystelle Brabbée, Executive Director of the Nantucket Film Festival. “From the
impactful words Leslie Dixon has brought to the screen, to the hilarious sketches from Jane Curtin,
Anne Beatts, Sudi Green, and Sarah Schneider of SNL, who have been pioneers for women in
comedy, we look forward to highlighting the evolution of female voices over the last four

The Screenwriters Tribute will take place on Saturday, June 22nd, 2019 as part of the 24th Nantucket Film Festival (NFF) which takes place June 19-24, 2019, celebrating the art of screenwriting and storytelling in cinema and television, on a beautiful island rich with history.

NFF also announced additional Signature Programs. Ophira Eisenberg will host Late Night Storytelling, and attendees will be able to sit in on a Comedy Roundtable titled “SNL Writers Room Gold” with SNL writers sharing stories about sketches that never aired, and talking about how SNL comes together every week. Gillian Jacobs will be at the festival to talk about her directorial debut, “Curated”, and much more.

Go to for more info.

Watch more viral videos.